Our History

School House Restaurant & Tavern in Sanger, CA.

Formerly Frankwood School, the original school house was built in 1890 and wasn’t made of brick. It was a one room wooden schoolhouse that, at its pinnacle, held 61 students. Then, in 1921, it was replaced with the “L” shaped 8,000 square foot red brick architecture that exists today. In 1958, Frankwood was absorbed by Centerville School district along with six other smaller schools and the land and schoolhouse was put up for sale. Soon after, the building became Sherwood Inn Restaurant and operated as a very successful western steakhouse saloon for more than 30 years. When Sherwood Inn closed at the beginning of the millennium, the building sat empty for almost ten years before current ownership bought the building in the fall 2010. As the new owners of this historical monument, they wanted to embrace the antiquity of the schoolhouse and breathe new life into an edifice that has remained for over 90 years. After 2 ½ years remodeling inside and outside, this rustic country elegant establishment has been open since January 2012. Locally owned and operated, this rustic elegant establishment offers house made “New American” cuisine that represents a modern approach to classic favorites with a focus on local, seasonal fresh ingredients.

We put great thought into developing each menu item. Every ingredient has a purpose. Every dish is hand crafted. We strive for our guests to leave with a new flavor experience they will remember years to come.
~Chef Ryan Jackson~